South Carolina ETV

SC Business Review

Monday - Friday mornings at 7:52 - The South Carolina Business Review, with host Mike Switzer, focuses on news from South Carolina's business community with interviews of many small business owners and business leaders from around the state. South Carolina's nonprofits, including its colleges and universities are also regularly featured on the program, as well as many of the state's small business support organizations. For questions or comments, email Mike Switzer.


Should SC Students be Required to Learn Pros and Cons of Evolution?


Thursday - July 31, 2014 at 7:52 am

Editor's note: This show was taped before the recent compromise: http://www.thestate.com/2014/07/29/3590110/update-to-teaching-evolution-clears.html

Most businesses would agree that the topic of education is very important to them.  And this is why we discuss it from time to time.  Most recently was about a month ago when our regular Monday morning guest, John Warner, who at the time was a member of our state's Education Oversight Committee, mentioned that he voted against the EOC's recommendation to require biology students to construct scientific arguments that both support and discredit evolution.  John Warner indicated that some scientists expressed concern to him that this proposal could affect our state's efforts to recruit prominent researchers to our state such as those currently being sought for South Carolina's SmartState endowed chair program.  This morning we have the other side of that vote for you.

Mike Switzer interviews Phillip Bowers, a nuclear safety specialist with Duke Energy and member of the Education Oversight Committee who voted for that proposal, which, by the way, was not adopted by the state board of education.


Recent Podcasts


Are Boomers Ready for Retirement?
Tuesday - July 29, 2014 at 7:52 am

SC Business Update From John “SwampFox” Warner
Monday - July 28, 2014 at 7:52 am

Picking, Collecting, and Selling on the Rise in SC
Friday - July 25, 2014 at 7:52 am

Columbia SC Economy Picking Up Steam
Thursday - July 24, 2014 at 7:52 am

Ex-Investment Banker Carves Success With Oyster Knife
Wednesday - July 23, 2014 at 7:52 am

Did You Know an HSA can be Used to Fund Retirement?
Tuesday - July 22, 2014 at 7:52 am

more »

DISCLAIMER: The views and opinions expressed by the guests on The South Carolina Business Review are their own and are not necessarily those of South Carolina ETV Radio.

NEWSLETTERS

Register for our newsletter to receive news, updates, schedules, and alerts by email.

Subscribe Now!

  • Home
  • |
  • ETV Stations
  • |
  • Network Status
  • |
  • Weather and Emergency Alerts
  • |
  • Jobs and Internships
  • |
  • Pressroom
  • |
  • Privacy Policy
  • |
  • About ETV
  • |
  • Contact Us


  • FCC TV Public Files:
  • WITV (Charleston)
  • |
  • WEBA-TV (Allendale)
  • |
  • WJWJ-TV (Beaufort)
  • |
  • WHMC-TV (Conway)
  • |
  • WRJA-TV (Sumter)
  • |
  • WNTV (Greenville)

  • WNSC-TV (Rock Hill)
  • |
  • WJPM-TV (Florence)
  • |
  • WRLK-TV (Columbia)
  • |
  • WNEH-TV (Greenwood)
  • |
  • WRET-TV (Spartanburg)

  • If you need assistance accessing our public file information, please contact Tara Thomas at 803-737-3500.



    NPR - National Public Radio    PBS - Public Broadcasting Service
    .